HelloFresh has a variety of menus that could potentially contain an allergen. Ingredients are stored in HelloFresh facilities segregated by packaging that results in protection from cross-contact.
This protection is as rigorous as the handling, storage, and display segregation achieved in typical retail establishments (supermarkets, etc.). Most ingredients pass through HelloFresh to the customer sealed in the packages they were received in.
We offer plans for meat eaters and vegetarians along with the option to customize plans via the following preferences: beef-free, pork-free, fish/shellfish-free, fit, quick, or variety.
However, we do not yet offer the option to tailor your plan for specific allergies.
That being said, HelloFresh has a team of dietitians that reviews every ingredient for any of the major 8 allergens: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, nuts, peanuts, fish, and shellfish.
The dietitians then use this information to identify and disclose if any recipe contains any of these allergens. Information about any potential allergens in any recipe is then posted on the website next to the meal choice, and the specific ingredient that contains the allergen is called out.
We leave it to our customers to review the ingredients and determine which recipes best meet their dietary needs.
There are countless customers with strict allergy requirements who use (and love!) us but substitute certain ingredients from their own fridge or pantry for their particular needs.
You can log into your account and review the allergens in each recipe here